Hump Day For A FTM

Standard

As my newborn son turns 1- month old, he certainly has kept me on my toes now that I am recovering from Shingles. My Hump Day or Wednesdays, have certainly changed. Prior to becoming pregnant Hump Day consisted of cafe, emails, reports, and phone calls and grateful that the work week was half way over. It was the sign that I could start planning my weekends of baby shopping trips, baby prep, husband time, and relaxing. I could not wait until my son was born – I had every day planned.

Now that my son is 1- month old I want to do everything to slow down time. I want to lie with him sleeping on my chest everyday and not have to get up for anything. This Hump Day in particular signifies something that i am dreading, returning to work. As a working Mom I did not expect to have this much anxiety. i wonder if I am the only person feeling guilty leaving their newborn.

Never have I ever wished to stall work, I have  always been career oriented and driven. Crazy how before I could not wait for this day to come, now all I want us for it not to end. this will be one of the many challenges i will face, balancing work and being a mom.

Leave a comment