I Can Fit My Fist In My Mouth

Standard

FullSizeRender-2My son loves to put everything in his mouth now that he is teething. His hands, foot, stuffed toys, teethers, toy cars, and anything really that can be grabbed and lifted. He recently proved he has been able to stick almost his whole fist in his mouth. Incredible but he can also kiss his toes so I should not be surprised.

Now sticking his fist in his mouth is fine, it is all the germs on his hands that I cannot stand. Baby E;s skin is super soft and this may sound stupid but I am afraid that if I clean his hands too much he will lose that baby softness. Yes, lotion is there but still can too much hand washing make his skin dry out. Everyone and their mother wants to touch an adorable baby yes, but think about how many other things that person touches and so on.

There are a million germs that he can be exposed to and all it takes is one in a million to make him sick. So how do I try to keep his hands germ free without spraying everyones hands with Windex before they touch him. He is adorable so they cannot help it but asking people to wash their hands can sometimes get me mean stares and scuffs.

Offering hands sanitizers and a wet nap helps. Also something that I find to be helpful is carrying around some baby friendly wipes. You can always use his normal wipes but there are some from Johnson & Johnson that I happen to love an are baby safe. When people visit my house I always ask for hand washing, but just to be extra safe I keep a wash cloth handy downstairs with baby E’s soap nearby to scoop him up and wash his hands. Hey, every little bit helps to prevent that next cold or flu. What do you use to keep your baby’s hands germ free?

Leave a comment